Diversity and Inclusion Recognition Award

The Diversity and Inclusion Recognition Award serves to acknowledge the accomplishments of an individual, institution, or archival program that demonstrates efforts to foster greater appreciation and advancement of diversity and inclusiveness in the archives profession in the Delaware Valley. Examples include programs and/or projects that result in increased numbers of persons from diverse and underrepresented minority groups (racial, ethnic, sexual orientation, gender, or persons with disabilities) working in archives or new resources serving those communities.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Any individual or repository is eligible. A person or institution does not need to be a
    DVAG member. However, in an effort to provide fair recognition of all deserving nominees, previous award recipients are ineligible until 2 years following their last award.

Guidelines and Nominations

  • At the end of the summer of each year, DVAG will invite the community to submit
    nominations for the Award. Each nominee’s materials are reviewed by an Award
    Committee, comprised of members of DVAG’s Planning Committee plus the previous year’s awardee. The Awards Committee reserves the right not to make an award if, in the judgment of the Committee, no worthy candidates are nominated.


  • One award for $200. Nominees are notified of their selection status by December 13th.

Submission of entries

  • Entries should be emailed to dvarchivists@gmail.com with the subject line “DIRA Submission”
  • Submissions must include:
    • The name of the nominee, and project or program being entered.
    • A description that includes a summary of their project or program, as well as a statement of the project/program commitment to the advancement of diversity, inclusion, or multiculturalism that does not exceed 500 words.
    • Contact information of the nominee.
    • Supporting documentation or links to projects are encouraged.
  • Submissions must be received by November 1.
  • Individuals may self nominate or be nominated by any DVAG community member.
  • Reminder: previous award recipients ineligible until 2 years following their last award.